The Three Types of Ketogenic Diets

Dominic D'Agostino pic
Dominic D’Agostino

University of South Florida associate professor Dominic D’Agostino holds a PhD in neuroscience, which he leverages to study metabolic therapies. One of the metabolic therapies that Dominic D’Agostino studies is the ketogenic diet, which trains the body to burn fat for energy instead of glucose.

There are three main types of ketogenic diets. These include the Standard Ketogenic Diet (SKD), the Cyclical Ketogenic Diet (CKD), and the Targeted Ketogenic Diet (TKD). The differences between the three lie within three separate approaches to carb intake.

When following the SKD, dieters do not ingest more than 50 to 60 grams of carbohydrates per day, on average. Dieters who follow CKD load up on carbohydrates one to two days per week in order to pursue significant muscle growth. TKD followers also pursue carbohydrate loading, but in smaller amounts, right before a workout.

Choosing the correct ketogenic diet for individual needs is easy when dieters consider the effects of each form. Those who primarily want to burn fat and improve health tend to choose SKD, as it results in a stable, expedient way to drop weight. CKD followers are typically experienced athletes who are more concerned with building muscle than losing fat, while TKD dieters consume only the carbs they need to sustain them through a workout.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s